UP College of Mass Comm holds homecoming on Sept 20

08 September 2014

The University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication(UP CMC) will hold its alumni homecoming dubbed as ‘’Countdown to Gold: CMC@49, Maki-Selfie, Maki-Party!’’ on Sept. 20, Saturday, from 3:00 to 7:00 p.m. venue at Zirkoh Comedy Bar, Tomas Moratoave., Quezon City.

Spearheaded by the UP CMC Alumni Association (UPCMCAA), the event will serve as a gathering in preparation for the college’s 50th founding anniversary in 2015.

UP CMC has consistently pursued its vision of developing socially responsible, critical and vigilant media to help create an egalitarian, participative and progressive society. Over the years, the UP-CMC has been consistently producing graduates who have become leaders and movers in the Philippine mass media. 

In March 2013, the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) designated the University of the Philippines Diliman as Centers of Excellence for Journalism, Broadcasting and Communication Research.

UP CMC also renders the annual UP GawadPlaridel, the University’s highest award for an outstanding media practitioner whose achievements shaped Philippine mass media toward making it responsive, responsible, and socially relevant. Actress Nora Aunor is this year’s GawadPlaridel awardee.

‘’As the College celebrates its 50th year or golden jubilee in 2015, we hope to continue and strengthen the tradition of honor and excellence in communication and media education in the country,’’ says UP CMC Dean Roland B. Tolentino, Ph.D.

The UP CMCAA is headed by its presidentMalouChoaFagar; Tessa Jazmines, VP for Internal Affairs; Joey P. Reyes, VP for External Affairs; Rica D. Abad, board secretary;Claro P. Fernandez, treasurer; Ivy Lisa F. Mendoza, assistant treasurer; JingjingRomero, P.R.O.; Alex Arellano,  Veronica Baluyot; Georgina Banzon; Emily Barcelon; Vincent DyBuncio, Maryo J. De Los Reyes; Gina D. Lumauig; Anna A. Velasco, board members.

For details, call 920-6864 / 928-3188 or 981-8500 loc. 2678 or email us at upcmcaa@gmail.com.