Nominations are now accepted for a new batch of outstanding UP MassCom alumni





25 JULY 2017


Who will get the ‘Glory’ on Nov. 11?


Nominations are now accepted for a new

batch of outstanding UP MassCom alumni


The University of the Philippines College of Mass Communications Alumni Association (UPCMCAA) will award a fresh batch of 10 outstanding UP MassCom alumni during this year’s annual homecoming on November 11, 2017 at the Plaridel Hall grounds in UP Diliman.

The alumni association announced the opening of nominations for a recognition that henceforth shall be known as the “Glory Awards” to honor the legacy of UP MassCom’s first dean, Dr. Gloria Feliciano.

UPCMCAA plans to award 10 Glory trophies every year to alumni achievers in television, print, radio, film, online journalism, research, and allied disciplines such as marketing communications, public relations, social advocacy, and performing arts. For the inaugural awards, a jury of mass communication experts will evaluate all nominees and select the 10 winners.

Organizers clarified that alumni who were already recognized by the College and the UP Alumni Association in previous years will not be eligible for the “Glory”. Instead, the pioneering awardees will be elevated into the honor roll of distinguished UPCMC alumni. They will also receive medals of excellence.

The 1st Glory Awards will be presented on a most fitting occasion, Nov. 11 being the birth anniversary of the late Dean Feliciano. The affair will also coincide with the yearly homecoming bash of UPCMC—a CHED Center of Excellence founded in 1965 as the Institute of Mass Communications. The College is based in Plaridel Hall at the main UP campus in Diliman.

The Glory Awards “hope to celebrate and sustain our beloved alma mater’s tradition of excellence,” said UPCMCAA president MalouChoa-Fagar.

“We take great pride in our hardworking alumni who, on any given day, are writing groundbreaking stories, engaging audiences by the millions, or plotting market and communication strategy for organizations,” Fagar added. “Our College has also produced committed social activists who are helping solve the serious problems of our society in creative and innovative ways.”

Awards committee chairperson Prof. Grace Javier-Alfonso is inviting entries especially from alumni who have remained under the radar despite their impressive portfolios.

“Alumni are welcome to join or be nominated if they can submit evidence of exemplary careers in mass communications,” Alfonso said. “The jurors will decide the winners based on the intrinsic merits and visible impact of works submitted for evaluation. They will also weigh a nominee’s demonstrated leadership and social responsibility in the mass communications field.”

Criteria and nomination requirements for the Glory Awards are now posted at and the official UP MassCom alumni Facebook page at Deadline for the submission of nominations is on September 15, 2017.


Download: Criteria and Nomination Requirements