18 July 2014



Nora Aunor is the recipient of the 2014 U.P. Gawad Plaridel, the annual media award of the University of the Philippines.

Ms. Aunor (Nora Cabaltera Villamayor), said the UP College of Mass Communication which made the announcement, is being recognized for her “unique artistry and versatility as a singer,” as well as for “portraying with keen intelligence and uncommon sensitivity an amazing range of cinematic roles.”

Among the films showcasing her excellence as an artist, says the citation prepared by UP CMC, are Bona; Himala; Bakit May Kahapon Pa?; Naglalayag; Minsa'y isang Gamugamo; Fe, Esperanza, Caridad; Tatlong Taong Walang Diyos; Annie Batungbakal; Flor Contemplacion Story; and Thy Womb.

Aunor was also commended for producing “movies of notable quality” like Banaue, Alkitrang Dugo, and Tisoy. These films, said UP CMC, helped raise the bar in Philippine filmmaking.

Aside from singing, acting and producing films, Aunor also starred in memorable and long-running television programs like the Nora Aunor Show and Superstar which “showcased her skills in song and dance and set a trend in Philippine television.” She also had the weekly drama anthologies Nora Cinderella and Ang Makulay na Daigdig ni Nora which “brought to the public both fine dramatic acting and relevant narratives of everyday life.”

UP CMC also cited Ms. Aunor for using her “tremendous popularity as an opportunity to (help) the masses…appreciate films and plays that dramatized and analyzed the abject conditions of the Filipino majority and the poor and powerless characters that she played with conviction.”

The U.P. Gawad Plaridel consists of a trophy specially designed by National Artist Napoleon Abueva, which will be awarded to Ms. Aunor by UP President Alfredo Pascual and UP Diliman Chancellor Michael Tan in ceremonies on August 27, 2014 (Wednesday), 2:00 pm at the U.P. Film Institute Film Center’s Cine Adarna. Ms. Aunor will also deliver a lecture during the ceremonies.

Established by the UP CMC, the annual U.P. Gawad Plaridel recognizes Filipino media practitioners who have excelled in any of the media (print, radio, film, and television) and who have performed with the highest level of professional integrity in the interest of public service.

The U.P. Gawad Plaridel’s past recipients are Ms. Eugenia Duran-Apostol (2004, print), Ms. Vilma Santos (2005, film), Ms. Fidela “Tiya Dely” Magpayo (2006, radio), Ms. Cecilia “Cheche” L. Lazaro (2007, television), Mr. Pachico A. Seares (2008, community print), Mr. Kidlat Tahimik (2009, independent filmmaking), Ms. Eloisa “Lola Sela” Canlas (2011, radio), Ms. Florence “Rosa Rosal” Danon-Gayda (2012, television) and Mr. Jose “Pete” Lacaba (2013, print).

The award is named after Marcelo H. del Pilar (Plaridel), the selfless propagandist whose stewardship of the reformist newspaper La Solidaridad gave voice to nationalist sentiments and libertarian ideas in the 1890s. Like Plaridel, the recipient of the award must believe in a vision of a Philippine society that is egalitarian, participative and progressive, and in media that is socially responsible, critical and vigilant, liberative and transformative, and free and independent. #

photo source: