UP GAWAD PLARIDEL honors Lola Sela on July 20, 2011


The annual U.P. GAWAD PLARIDEL is organized by the U.P. College of Mass Communication (CMC). It is the University’s way of recognizing the achievements of an outstanding practitioner from print, radio, film, television, or the new media. 

This year’s awardee is *MS. ELOISA C. CANLAS *(a.k.a. Lola Sela) for her outstanding contributions in the field of radio. Ms. Canlas is recognized for her unassuming yet excellent, versatile, socially relevant and formidable presence on radio. She joins the roster of past U.P. Gawad Plaridel recipients who are:

Philippine Daily Inquirer founder Ms. Eugenia Duran-Apostol (2004, Print Journalism)

Actress Ms. Vilma Santos (2005, Film)

Ms. Fidela “Tiya Dely” Magpayo (2006, Radio)

Cecilia L. Lazaro (2007, Television)

Atty. Pachico A. Seares (2008, Community Print Media)

and Mr. Kidlat Tahimik (2009, Film).

Ms. Canlas will be awarded on July 20, 2011 (Wednesday), 1:00 p.m., at the Cine Adarna of the U.P. Film Institute located along Magsaysay Avenue, U.P. Diliman Campus, QC (in front of the U.P. Bahay ng Alumnay). As an essential part of the program, Ms. Canlas will deliver the Plaridel Lecture on current issues in the radio industry.In this light, we invite you, your faculty/teachers, your students, and your friends to attend the event. The Cine Adarna theater doors will be open as early as 12:00 noon.
Attire is smart casual and for students, their school uniform.

If you have questions, you may call us at 920-6864 or 981-85-00 local 2668 (U.P. CMC Office of Extension and External Relations); please look for Mr. Alex NP Tamayo. You may also get in touch with Ms. Donna Lusterio at 920-6863 or 981-8500 local 2670.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you on July 20. 


DR. ARMINDA V. SANTIAGO, Director, UP-CMC Office of Extension and External Relations and Gawad Plaridel 2011 Project Coordinator 

Landline: 63-2-920-6863

photo is linked back to the DZRH Website

next year's gawad

just to excite people for next year's gawad, the gawad plaridel for 2012 is going to be given to an exemplary television practitioner!

Hooray for lola sela

So happy Lola Sela won the Gawad Plaridel! Sana dumami pa ang mga dramatista sa radyo!