25 May 2016





This year’s U.P. Gawad Plaridel recipient is a veteran radio practitioner from Tacloban City whose career spans five decades, a highlight of which was bravely being on duty on the day typhoon Yolanda hit.

The University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication is pleased to announce that MS. FRANCISCA “BABES” CUSTODIO of DYVL – Tacloban City will receive the prestigious award this year.

Custodio started her career in the broadcasting industry in 1964 as an aide in the Accounting and Traffic Departments of the Manila Broadcasting Company AM station DYVL-Tacloban City. She rose from the ranks and worked her way up to become the present Station Manager of DYVL. As Station Manager, she was on duty the entire time typhoon Yolanda was ravaging their community. Custodio has continuously been spearheading the rebuilding efforts of DYVL.

Custodio is cited for reviving the Siday, a traditional form of poetry and an important expression of regional identity, and revitalized it into a new medium (radio). DYVL Siday has become an important platform for Waray creative writers to showcase their poems addressing issues of social concern. Through the use of a form that is close to the people, she has turned the medium of radio into a two-way communication, where listeners are given opportunities to be heard as well.

The U.P. Gawad Plaridel comes with a trophy, specially designed by National Artist Napoleon Abueva, which will be presented to Custodio by the U.P. President Alfredo Pascual and U.P. Diliman Chancellor Michael Tan in ceremonies on August 24, 2016 (Wednesday), 2:00 pm at the U.P. Film Center. Custodio will also deliver a lecture during the ceremonies.

Established by the U.P. College of Mass Communication, the annual U.P. Gawad Plaridel recognizes Filipino media practitioners who have excelled in any of the media (print, radio, film, and television) and who have performed with the highest level of professional integrity in the interest of public service.

The U.P. Gawad Plaridel’s roster of honorees include: Ms. Eugenia Duran-Apostol (2004, print), Ms. Vilma Santos (2005, film), Ms. Fidela “Tiya Dely” Magpayo (2006, radio), Ms. Cecilia “Cheche” L. Lazaro (2007, television), Mr. Pachico A. Seares (2008, community print), Mr. Kidlat Tahimik (2009, independent film), Ms. Eloisa “Lola Sela” Canlas (2011, radio), Ms. Florence “Rosa Rosal” Danon-Gayda (2012, television), Mr. Jose “Pete” Lacaba (2013, print), Ms. Nora “Nora Aunor” Villamayor (2014, transmedia), and Mr. Ricardo “Ricky” Lee (2015, film).

The award is named after Marcelo H. del Pilar (nom de plume, Plaridel), the selfless propagandist whose stewardship of the reformist newspaper La Solidaridad gave voice to nationalist sentiments and libertarian ideas in the 1890s. Like Plaridel, the recipient of the award must believe in a vision of a Philippine society that is egalitarian, participative and progressive, and in media that is socially responsible, critical and vigilant, liberative and transformative, and free and independent. #